About HEAT

In 1996, the Hospitality Educators Association of Texas (HEAT) was formed to further professionalism for secondary educators who are teaching hospitality and tourism programs in the state of Texas.

HEAT is governed by a board of directors, consisting of high school and college hospitality educators and industry professionals.

If you are interested in serving on the HEAT board please fill out the Board Application for our Board to Review for the next slate of officers to be presented in November 2020. Please email the application to Bunny Denton by August 20, 2020 to bunny.heat@gmail.com


2020 HEAT Board and Officers                                              

President Gina Causin SFA causingf@sfasu.edu
1st Vice President Sean Dunn Pearland ISD dunnse@pearlandisd.org
2nd Vice President Jennifer Eaglen Waxahachie ISD jeaglen@wisd.org
Sec/Treasurer Cynthia Williams Retired Hospitality Educator cutterad@aol.com
Past President Jill Lawson Glen Rose ISD lawsji@grisd.net
Educator – West Texas Melinda Castillo Cantuillo ISD mecastillo@canutillo-isd.org
Educator – Austin Brian Sedatole Pflugerville ISD brian.sedatole@pfisd.net
Educator – Houston Kathleen Roussel Clear Creek ISD kgroussel@gmail.com
Educator – San Antonio Miriam George East Central ISD Miriam.george@ecisd.net
Educator – DFW Beverly Clemmons Dallas ISD bandressclemmons@dallasisd.org
Hotel Philett Carter San Luis Resort and Spa pcarter@ldry.com
Industry Glenn Rierson AceMart Glenn@acemart.com
Restaurant Traci Henson Whataburger thenson@wbhq.com
Texas Chefs Assoc. Kelly Cook TCA kvcooktca@gmail.com
Post Secondary Charlie Adams Texas Tech University Charlie.Adams@ttu.edu
Post Secondary David Uminski St. Philip's College duminski@alamo.edu
Post Secondary Allen Powell Tarrant County College Southeast frank.powell@tccd.edu
Educator At Large Joel Skipper Waxahachie ISD jskipper@wisd.org
Educator At Large Steve DeShazo El Centro College sdeshazo@dcccd.edu
Educator At Large Lori Hohmann Comfort ISD lori.hohmann@comfortisd.net
At Large Sherry Chaudhry Chaudhry Consulting sherry@chaudhryconsulting.com
At Large Monica Gowda Lark on the Parks gowda.monica@gmail.com
At Large Chelly Sturgell Birdville ISD chelly.sturgell@birdvilleschools.net
At Large Lesly Bertrand Cy Fair ISD Lesly.bertrand@cfisd.net
Retired Vicki Tramel Retired Culinary Educator teach4ware@aol.com
TRA EX Officio  Yvonne Loya TRAEF yloya@tramail.org
TH&LA EX Officio Neil Patel TH&LA npatel@texaslodging.com
TTIA EX Officio Erika Boyd TTIA eboyd@ttia.org
TEA EX Officio Debbie Wieland TEA debbie.wieland@tea.texas.gov
Past President EX Officio Elena Doerrie Johnson & Wales University  Elena.Doerrie@jwu.edu



More About Us

Click on a link below to read more.